News: Irish awards shortlist recognises excellence in public relations

Reading Time: 2 minutes

THE nominees for The Awards for Excellence in Public Relations 2022 were announced today. They celebrate the best Irish public relations and communications work by public, private and not-for-profit organisations and are hosted by the Public Relations Consultants Association (PRCA) and the Public Relations Institute of Ireland (PRII).

Shortlisted work reflects the wide range of communications campaigns undertaken in the twelve months since March 2021 including: mental and physical health; economic and social inequalities; food and drinks; sports and maths; entertainments and infrastructure projects; travel and peat; and work and water safety.

Those shortlisted were selected from almost 150 entries submitted by consultancies and in-house communication teams across twenty-seven categories. The campaigns were evaluated by a panel of thirteen public relations and communications industry leaders and academics. The shortlist includes Murray for A walk in the park: Launching Ireland’s first community currency for The Digital Hub/Smart D8; Cavanagh Communications’ campaign Adult Safeguarding Day – Ireland’s first-ever national public awareness day for Safeguarding Ireland; Wilson Hartnell’s AIB GOAL Mile – Step Up Together; Aldi Ireland’s Aldi’s First Time Financials; and The Reputations Agency’s campaign An Post Zero Pay Gap: Women Leaders for the Future. A full list can be viewed here. In addition, eleven early career professionals entered the Young Communication Professional of the Year competition. Following interviews with the judges later this month, the shortlist for that category will be announced.

The Awards, established 29 years ago, will be presented at a Gala Lunch event in the Round Room at the Mansion House Dublin on 24 June. They are supported by Fennell Photography (In-house PR Team of the Year), Onclusive (PRCA Agency of the Year), RuePointMedia (Best Issues Led Campaign) and Paragon Customer Communications.

Pictured (left to right) are Padraig McKeon, PRII president, Dearbhail McDonald, Awards MC and Owen Cullen, chair of PRCA and Awards host.